Monday, April 27, 2015


It takes so little
To shape a culture.
The symbiosis of water.

On the turntable:  "Putumayo Present Italian Cafe"

Wednesday, April 22, 2015


Remnants of the Taira,
Hide themselves in the deep hills,
To be found by Chinese.

On the turntable:  "Home Cookin'"

Wednesday, April 15, 2015


Shapes and shades.
Catching a glimpse of Edo,
Beneath the mask of spring.

On the turntable:  "Cold Mountain (Sdtk)"

Friday, April 10, 2015


Cutting a route
Through springtime clouds.

On the turntable:  The Orb, "Back to Mine"

Thursday, April 09, 2015


Beyond the edges of wifi,
Exists an entire world.

On the turntable:  "The Rough Guide to Delta Blues"


Wednesday, April 08, 2015


There is still
Great beauty to be found,
Between the branches.

On the turntable:  "Grosse Point Blank"

Tuesday, April 07, 2015


As do the blossoms
So does the rain.
Deepening spring.

On the turntable; The English Beat, "I Can't Stop It"

Monday, April 06, 2015


In this remote corner,
The old and the new
Continue the dance.

On the turntable:  "Freedom of Choice"

Sunday, April 05, 2015

Sunday papers: W. Somerset Maugham

"I would sooner be bored by Proust than amused by anybody else."  

On the turntable:  "Cajun early recordings"

Friday, April 03, 2015


Young and brazen,
Blossoms wave farewell to
The receding back of winter.

On the turntable:  "Samba Soul 70!"

Thursday, April 02, 2015


Despite these twenty years,
My jaded eyes can still find beauty,
In a well-crafted cliche.

On the turntable:  "The Rough Guide to China"

Wednesday, April 01, 2015


Circles within circles.
Spring makes its way
Along the pilgrim's path.

On the turntable:  "The Rough Guide to Irish Music"